The Lakota

The Lakota, Dakota and Nakota are three Indian divisions that are today commonly referred to by the general name ‘Sioux’. The three divisions all belong to the same language group and used to also form a political religious unity.

Historically, they are part of the Oceti Sakowin: the Seven Council Fires. The white colonizers referred to the people of the Seven Council Fires as Sioux: an Anglo-French corruption of the name given to them by their traditional enemies.

That’s why, according to some, the word Sioux is insulting. Others, however, have appropriated the term to refer to themselves. Some tribal chiefs have even included the word Sioux in their name.